Frohe Weihnachten

I have been trying to write about Christmas Day for a few days now and I just can’t find the words to describe it aptly. It wasn’t my first Christmas away from my family, it’s defiantly the furthest I have been from them. It was though the first time I was hosting. I love hosting and cooking for people and making sure that everyone is well feed and always has a full glass of what ever takes their fancy.
So on Christmas morning I woke to my phone ringing under my pillow at 7am, I think I had only made it to bed at 4 something after many drinks and some dancing. It was my family in Ballarat, all talking to me at once all a few drinks into the day. I was attempting to not look like I had only been asleep a few hours, I think I failed at that. It was like a normal Christmas though, woken by the family early when you don’t want to be, classic Christmas morning. So after chatting to the family I had a few more hours sleep then begun the task of peeling and par boiling 1 kg of potatoes, 1kg of carrots, parsnip and a small pumpkin to to mention prepping a leg of lamb and a turkey breast that was rolled with cranberries and apples. After peeling everything was when I pop my first bottle of bubbles and in honour of my mother it was of course a sparkling red. A tradition that I will continue, it’s normally combined with a croissant breakfast, I just didn’t have time and there was so much food already.

20121229-221408.jpg
In an amazing feet of timing I managed to prepare and cook or be cooking all the food before my guests arrived and have the table set and a drinks station prepared. Not to mention shower and cover my face in cosmetics to hide the fact that I had only had 4 or so hours sleep. Not that it mattered as I was out with them all the evening before. So they bought a ham and some salad and a trifle, cheese and biscuits. We also had enough booze to keep us jolly even if we did get snowed in.

20121229-223243.jpg

20121229-223256.jpg

20121229-223305.jpg

20121229-223311.jpg
Sadly there was no snow but there was good company, lots of laughs, celebrity heads, Christmas carols, presents, an artistic Christmas tree and I got to wear long johns the whole day and nap when ever I got tired. There was also a Christmas movie marathon only thing missing was Christmas pudding and silly hats okay not the only things.

Frohe Weihnachten even if its a bit late.

xo
LL

PS: In case you were concerned I my roast chicken was cooked to perfection. Happy Days no salmonella.

Leave a Reply

