Building a Life

I have been in Berlin 5 weeks now and things are falling into place. I have a cute little apartment with a lovely German housemate, who I think I drive a little nuts with my inability to communicate in German or retain German words. It’s in a great area (Friedrichshain) that has lots of bars, cafes and street art and also has some of the last remaining true squat houses. I feel very at home here and have been slowly exploring.

20121113-131257.jpg

20121113-131303.jpg
Some pics of my apartment

20121113-131330.jpg

20121113-131337.jpg

20121113-131600.jpg
Some of the streetart.

20121113-131634.jpg

20121113-131641.jpg
Treptow park which is near by and is lovely to walk around on a clear autumn day.

During this time I have also been applying for jobs. Not in any serious way just a few emails here and there to hostels and cafes. I have really been enjoying holidays and having time to write and read and not feel guilty about it or go for a 3 hour walk, it’s just fantastic. Though this could all change after this afternoon I have a trial at a restaurant/bar/cafe called Melbourne Canteen Surprisingly enough it’s a restaurant/bar/cafe made in the Melbourne style and all service is in English, perfect for me but not so great for me learning German. Nw it has been a long time since I worked in a bar or cafe. I have become more accustomed to beakers and lab coats though I am sure it will be fine. Kinda like riding a bike, hopefully. So I have gone out and got myself a denim shirt as that’s what all the hipsters that work their seem to wear. I have thrown on my skinny black jeans and Dunlop volleys and lets all cross our fingers that I don’t drop anything or am required to communicate in German… Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

